Avonlea Vignettes

This is a complete list of books written by Lucy Maud Montgomery. I have them listed in the order that they were published.

First editions aren't easy to find. The best place to find them is eBay.com.


Anne of Green Gables published in 1908

Anne of Avonlea published in 1909

Kilmeny of the Orchard published in 1910 (Originally written for a magazine. The title in the magazine was Una of the Garden.)

The Story Girl published in 1911

The Golden Road published in 1913

Anne of the Island published in 1915

Anne's House of Dreams published in 1917

Rainbow Valley published in 1919

Rilla of Ingleside published in 1920

Emily of New Moon published in 1923

Emily Climbs published in 1925

The Blue Castle published in 1926

Emily's Quest published in 1927

Magic for Marigold published in 1929

The Tangled Web published in 1931 (English title is Aunt Becky Began It)

Pat of Silver Bush published in 1933

Mistress Pat published in 1935

Anne of Windy Poplars published in 1936; (Canadian title is Anne of Windy Willows)

Jane of Lantern Hill published in 1937

Anne of Ingleside published in 1939

Collected Short Stories

Only two short stories were published while Maud was still living. The rest of the stories have been found with Maud's things and made into books.

Chronicles of Avonlea published in 1912

Further Chronicles of Avonlea published in 1920

The Road to Yesterday published in 1974

The Doctor's Sweetheart, and Other Stories published in 1979

Akin to Anne: Tales of Other Orphans published in 1988

Along the Shore: Tales by the Sea published in 1989

Among the Shadows: Tales from the Darker Side published in 1990

After Many Days: Tales of Time Passed published in 1991

Against the Odds: Tales of Achievement published in 1993

At the Alter: Matrimonial Tales published in 1994

Christmas with Anne: and Other Holiday Stories published in 1995

Across the Miles: Tales of Correspondence published in 1995


Only The Watchman and Other Poems was published while Maud was still living. Very few books were printed (under one thousand), because the company did not think that they would sell. Because of this, the book is very hard to find.

The Watchman and Other Poems published in 1916

The Poetry of Lucy Maud Montgomery published in 1987


The Alpine Path: The Story of My Career published in 1974 (originally published in a newspaper)


Maud was an avid writer in journals. She intended for them to be published, and thanks to editors Mary Rubio and Elizabeth Waterston the books are now able to be purchased. If you would like to know more about Maud, I highly recommend buying these. The first book is no longer being made, but you should be able to find copies of these books at on-line bookstores.

The Selected Journals of L. M. Montgomery, Volume I: 1889-1910 published in 1985

The Selected Journals of L. M. Montgomery, Volume II: published in 1910-1921

The Selected Journals of L. M. Montgomery, Volume III: published in 1921-1929 1992

The Selected Journals of L. M. Montgomery, Volume IV: published in 1929-1935 1998

The Selected Journals of L. M. Montgomery, Volume V: published in 1935-1942 2004


The Green Gables Letters from L. M. Montgomery to Ephraim Weber, 1905-1909 published in 1960

My Dear Mr. M: Letters to G. B. MacMillan published in 1980

Book Series

Anne of Green Gables

If you enjoy the movies, I highly recommend reading the books. The books travel through Anne's life and finish with the end of World War 1. By the end of the series Anne has five living children and two deceased children.

Anne of Green Gables

Anne of Avonlea

Anne of the Island

Anne of Windy Poplars

Anne's House of Dreams

Anne of Ingleside

Rainbow Valley

Rilla of Ingleside


Emily is an orphan who lives with her two aunts and cousin. Aunt Elizabeth, Emily's guardian, is very strict. Aunt Laura is very sweet and kind. Cousin Jimmy "isn't all there" and writes poetry. Emily is determined to become a writer, but has to write in secret. Her schoolteacher, Mr. Carpenter, encourages to keep on writing and in twenty years she will be an excellent writer. The books were made into a television series in 1998. They do differ from the books. To find out more information about the TV series, click here.

Emily of New Moon

Emily Climbs

Emily's Quest

The Story Girl

These two books are about Sara and her living with her King relatives. Road to Avonlea is based on these two books (also based on Chronicles of Avonlea and Further Chronicles of Avonlea). These books aren't that similar to the show. The King cousins have different names, and Sara tells many more stories in the books. The books are narrated by Beverly King (Beverly is a boy.).

The Story Girl

The Golden Road


Pat is a girl who dislikes change, and everytime things change, Pat throws a "fit". In the second book Pat is grown up and slowly becomes acustom to change. Click here to learn more about Pat!

Pat of Silverbush

Mistress Pat

Back to Misc Page

© Avonlea Vignettes